Author(s): BOWLES EA

Writing & History | Julie Wiltshire

Bowles (1865-1954) is often called the greatest amateur gardener of his time. He was recognized as an authority on crocuses, daffodils, and snowdrops. This is the second volume in a trilogy exploring his garden throughout the year, and in it he chronicles the charms of roses, geraniums, peonies, and poppies, to name only a few.

Minor shelf wear and fading on spine.

$40.00(NZD) RRP $64.95(NZD)

Add to Cart

Add to Wishlist

Product Information


Edward Augustus Bowles (1865–1954) was renowned as a gardener, plantsman, and author. His life's work was his garden at Myddelton House, which is now being restored to its original condition as a tribute to his memory. He was a prolific writer on gardening as well as an avid painter of botanical subjects. His Handbook of Crocus and Colchicum and Handbook of Narcissus are the standard works of reference for these plants, but he is best known for his popular books My Garden in Spring, My Garden in Summer, and My Garden in Autumn and Winter. The author was a vice-president of the Royal Horticultural Society and the recipient of the Victoria Medal of Honour in Horticulture. Among his other awards were the Veitch Memorial Medal in gold for his work on Crocus and other garden plants, the Peter Barr Memorial Cup for his work on Narcissus, and a Grenfell Medal in gold for his botanical paintings.

General Fields

  • : 9780881924138
  • : timber
  • : timber
  • : March 1998
  • : 203mm X 140mm X 36mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Hardback
  • : 2
  • : 635
  • : 393
  • : 24 b/w photos